Till innehåll på sidan

Overview: Doctoral Programmme in Architecture

The subject of architecture at postgraduate level manages, develops and communicates knowledge of architecture. The subject treats the concepts and theories of architecture and their relationship to planning and design of the built environment. Postgraduate studies in architecture at KTH contain five areas of specialization: architectural design, architectural technology, critical studies of architecture, history and theory of architecture, and urban design. A PhD-degree in Architecture consists of four full years of study.

From 2011 and continuing, all doctoral students at the School of Architecture are part of the same Doctoral Programme in Architecture. Hereby everyone follows the same syllabus, within which there is a set of compulsory courses, including one which is tied to the specialization of choice. Additionally, doctoral students follow a range of elective courses as well as studies at other departments or universities adapting the studies to the individual project, after agreement with the main supervisor. The course part of a PhD in Architecture consists of roughly one of the four full years of doctoral studies, leaving three years for research and thesis production. Doctoral students can be expected to work up to 20% of their time with other duties such as within the Bachelors' or Masters' programmes. This time is added to the studies, making the actual length of doctoral studies between four and five years.

While the preference is for full four years of studies, KTH allows studies of two years leading to a licentiate  degree.

Postgraduate studies in architecture follow the rules and regulations common to the whole of KTH and the School of Architecture and Built Environment, with additional local policies and regulations. The specific rules are defined in the study plan for the Doctoral Program.