Software

KTH aims to develop theory and analysis of architectural space and form contributing to predictive knowledge and discursive theory on the social performance of architectural artefacts as well as critically examine and question architectural form and spatial configuration. An important part in this is continuous development of concepts and tools, including software and representation. KTH has developed several internationally used software prototypes.

An important part of the research is developing new methods and tools, where software becomes an integral part as on the one hand new problems are encountered that existing tools cannot deal with, but on the other hand also to develop the theories and models themselves. In effect, software does not only constitute a research tool, but a driving part of the research. This includes the Place Syntax Tool (PST), SPOT family of softwares, and JASS.

Obtaining Software

While we strive to keep as much of the software created open to the public, this is not always possible. In as far as it is, however, details on obtaining the various applications can be found below. It needs to be said that the 'software' should be considered working prototypes, and we cannot offer support or guarantee their functionality. As things progress, we will properly document and publish the various applications appropriately though this takes its due time.

  • PST (Open Source version) - PST is an open source tool for performing spatial analyses. It combines the space syntax description of the urban environment with conventional descriptions of attraction into the combined accessibility analysis tool PST. It is currently available as a plugin for the MapInfo Professional GIS software and QGIS, an open source GIS software following a GNU General Public License . Use of PST should acknowledge where the software originates from (see the documentation), and in academic contexts refer relevant base papers (e.g. Ståhle et al, 2005). While PST is now open source and for free use, it should be considered a prototype software as all others, and as all analytic software, validity of results depend on relevance of data, analysis and interpretation of the results, as well as the use of appropriate models. 
    • The documentation of PST should be downloaded here . It describes how the software works and what types of analysis it performs, and is not a full introduction to the knowledge field.
    • The Open Souce PST for QGIS 3 can be downloaded here .
    • Some maps for download are available at the SMOG PST site at Chalmers . Here you can also find PST for MapInfo and older QGIS versions.
    • The original paper presenting the first PST is Ståhle, A., et al., 2005, " Place Syntax: Geographic accessibility with axial lines in GIS ".
    • PST is developed by KTH School of Architecture, Chalmers School of Architecture (SMoG) and Spacescape AB. Alexander Ståhle, Lars Marcus, Daniel Koch, Martin Fitger, Ann Legeby, Gianna Stavroulaki, Meta Berghauser Pont, Anders Karlström, Pablo Miranda Carranza, Tobias Nordström

  • JASS - Jass is a simple software for convex space analysis. It allows the user to import bitmap drawings to draw a node network graph upon, on which analysis can be made, including automatic generation of justified graphs. JASS is written under a GNU public licence.
  • Spatial Positioning Tool [SPOT] - SPOT is the original SPOT application (nowadays a family of applications with a similar approach). It is a basic software for analysis of Isovists and isovist relations from select positions. It also allows for a dynamic/interactive movement, addition, and removal of Isovist origins.
  • SPOT19 - SPOT19 was developed in cooperation with AEDAS architects. It is open for academic use by request. The purpose of SPOT19 is to investigate how positions (e.g. workplaces, people, items) cluster ('group') through space using different forms of distance and clustering measures.
  • SPOT Paths - SPOT Paths was developed for the research project "To see and be seen in healthcare environments" and is specifically targeted at the dynamic investigation of a few select parameters. Specifically, it allows for 'drafting' environments in the software, while investigating effects on the exposure of defined routes from various design decisions.
  • Place Syntax Tool [PST] (original version) - The Place Syntax Tool is a plug-in for MapInfo. PST can run "place syntax" analysis (e.g. accessible desnity along segments) as well as most of the reguarly used space syntax analyses.
    • PST can be obtained by contacting Alexander Ståhle, Lars Marcus, or Ann Legeby.
    • The original paper, to refer to when using the software is Ståhle, A., et al., 2005, " Place Syntax: Geographic accessibility with axial lines in GIS ".
    • The original paper contains basic technical specs for early versions of PST. Updated publications are in progress.

While the specific programs have authors and creators to them, it is important to acknowledge this as a collective effort of the research group Spatial Analysis and Design (SAD), and in the extension, done together with Chalmers, SpaceScape, Aedas R&D, and other actors. For current and earlier co-workers at KTH this includes but is not limited to

  • Lars Marcus, Docent, Professor (Chalmers), lars.marcus@chalmers.se
  • Jesper Steen, Professor (retired), jesper.steen@arch.kth.se
  • Daniel Koch, PhD (researcher), daniel.koch@arch.kth.se
  • Alexander Ståhle, PhD (researcher), alexander.stahle@arch.kth.se
  • Ann Legeby, PhD (researcher), ann.legeby@arch.kth.se
  • Henrik Markhede, Lic (Chalmers), markhede@chalmers.se
  • Meta Berghauser Pont, PhD (Chalmers), meta.berghauserpont@chalmers.se
  • Eunyoung Choi, PhD-student, eunyoung.choi@arch.kth.se
  • Eva Minoura, PhD (SpaceScape), eva.minoura@arch.kth.se
  • Sara Sardari Sayyar, PhD-student, sara.sardarisayyar@arch.kth.se
  • Pablo Miranda, PhD-student, pablo.miranda@arch.kth.se
  • Mohammad Sarraf, PhD (City Frame), msarraf@kth.se
  • Ehsan Abshirini, PhD-student (Geoinformatics), ehsan.abshirini@abe.kth.se
  • Noah Raford, PhD (guest researcher), noahraford@gmail.com