Motivation

The Jury has been impressed by the many students this year that engage in thorough artistic processes and personalised design-led methodologies, closely investigating practices that are neighbours to architecture, and offer potential new readings and design approaches. Such translations from one artistic practice to another, or between cultures, is of course not new in architecture – Léonie Geisendorf herself is a brilliant example of an architect who worked in translation - between languages and across cultures, hereby bringing European modernism to Swedish, mediated through ballet, music and a very personal and expressive architecture.

We think it is particularly important, at a time when migration and political instability marks the world it is particularly important to remind that architecture has the capacity to transcend cultures and practices. For this reason, the Jury has decided to reward a project that offers a very close reading of poetry, and a careful translation of words into architecture, leading us through a process that starts in S.t Petersburg, takes a deep dive into the foundations of Stockholm, rises through the underground masses of the south island and breaks the surface with such expressive powers in a building that declares respect, presence and inclusion.

The Léonie Geisendorf Architectural Award 2018 is given to **Sofie Tidstrand** for her exploration and architectural interpretation of Edith Södergrans poetry. The jury wishes to emphasize how Sofie's creative work process, a poetic and spatial translation of meaning and vocabulary, has resulted in an innovative conceptual toolbox for architects to use in design. Sofie's final design is a powerful and eccentric architectural sculpture that manifests its right to a place in the urban fabric, a liberal architectural manifesto that makes Edith Södergran present on Södermalm, by embedding reflections on place, movement, symbolism, politics and gender.

Signed, KTH, 1 June 2018

Jury members: Architect SAR/MSA Cecilia Ström Architect SAR/MSA Staffan Gezelius Architecte DPLG Hedvig Ersman

Permanent Secretary of the Léonie Geisendorf Architectural Award Committee: Architect SAR/MSA, Dr Charlie Gullström, KTH School of Architecture